Constitutional changes in the 1920s

In the inter-war period the Republic never established itself in the consciousness of the people as a permanent order and the successive blows it received (coups, dictatorship, etc.) justified the characterization ascribed to it of being 'stillborn'. Between 1924 and 1928, 10 prime minister terms, three general elections and eleven military coups or ultimatums occurred. A military dictatorship was imposed (that of Theodoros Pangalos) which was later overthrown by a new coup. It is characteristic that the president of the Republic was dismissed once, while in two other cases he resigned. After a two-year delay, the issue of a new Constitution for the country was finally settled. The new Constitution was issued in a revised form on 3 June 1927, but met with massive resistance from the opposition (especially by the People's Party).